Project Glass

Why would you shun moving forward into and even embracing the new world? My grandmother resisted telephones and electric irons. Our parents claim they “can’t text”. I’ve dived headfirst into social networking, blogs, emails, smart phones, texting, etc. I saw the value, had curious energy, wanted to swim in the faster currents, so took the plunge. But I’m left wondering WHAT with be that NEXT advancement that will be the breaking point for me too? What will I eventually shun and resist? Or maybe just won’t see the value, appeal or have the energy to learn?

The Pew Internet Adoption Survey shows decreasing internet adoption with age. A big drop-off especially in the 65+ age group. I’m sure there will be some x-technology adoption chart when I get up there, that will show me as a non-adopter. But What will that be?

When I saw the news reports and video clips on Project Glass last week, I think I may have found my breaking point! In case you weren’t one of the ~14million people to watch this video clip yet, these are “augmented-reality glasses” that can stream information to the lenses and allow the wearer to send and receive messages through voice commands. There is also a built-in camera to record video and take pictures. This New York Times article helps with more background.

I think I might get sea-sick with all that input, or walk into a door, or have a seizure trying to sort out the real vs. the un-real feeds. Yikes! However, I must say that some of it does appeal: it might help me remember what I went upstairs to get, or where I put down my cell phone, know what I mean anyone? … maybe I shouldn’t dismiss this too quickly!

Leave a comment