Every Bite Counts

Ever finish a dessert and notice that everyone else at the table is only half-way through? or don’t remember eating the last bite – surely the person next to you stole it? Oh no! I want more! What did it really taste like? This happens to me regularly. I wolf down my food, just like I ‘wolf down’ life. I’m in a rush to move through every event, task, etc. that is placed in front of me.

A natural disposition matched up with years of beating the corporate Change Management drums of “create a sense of urgency” and “create a sense of dissatisfaction with the present”, keeps me running at a fast pace, always moving forward. So what’s wrong with that?

My daughter asked us last night which period of our lives we would repeat, if we could and what would we do differently. We agreed that the years overseas when the kids were young were highlights that we would love to revisit, BUT this time with a greater sense of presence, appreciation and savoring of all the little moments of those days.

So what’s wrong with these devices ( … urgency, dissatisfaction) that keep us propelling forward to achieve our goals? I’m thinking I might not remember what the cake tasted like. That would be a real bummer.

‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾‾

Remember this one from Simon and Garfunkel – Feeling Groovy (59th St. Bridge Song)?

Slow down, you move too fast, you’ve got to make the morning last
Just kickin’ down the cobble-stones, lookin’ for fun and feelin’ groovy

Feeling groovy

Hello lamp-post, what’s cha knowing, I’ve come to watch your flowers growin’
Ain’t cha got no rhymes for me, do-it-do-do, feelin’ groovy

Feeling groovy

I’ve got no deeds to do, no promises to keep
I’m dappled and drowsy and ready to sleep
Let the morning time drop all its petals on me

Life I love you, all is groovy

3 responses to “Every Bite Counts

  1. 🙂 that’s hilarious, that one of the tools of change management is to create a sense of dissatisfaction with the present! Sort of the exact opposite of the tools of happiness.

  2. 🙂 That’s hilarious, that one of the tools of change management is to create a sense of dissatisfaction with the present. Sort of the exact opposite of the tools of happiness, right?

  3. They always say that if you are trying to lose weight, only eat a couple of bites of a dessert, because those bites tast the best. In other words, don’t deny yourself things that are good, but perhaps don’t overdo them, saving room for other great things that come along — whether food or experiences.

Leave a comment